Quick Intro

JessMarti.4.9.17 (16 of 82).jpg

It's been a few months since I formally introduced myself and the purpose behind my site. So, what better way to get to know one another—especially for my new gal pal readers—than to share a few quick facts about myself.

First, you should know that I’m a girl who loves Jesus, my close-knit family and friends, and have a not-so-slight obsession with dogs, almond milk, and kale. Here’s a bit more:

The basics: I’m 30. Born and raised in Arlington, Va. Middle child. Breakfast lover.

Vices I can’t give up: Coffee + a daily sweet treat.

Constantly daydreaming about: Properties I can’t afford on Zillow.

Favorite time of day: Early mornings just as sunlight begins to seep through the window.

Faith background: My parents used to force my sister and I to attend Mass, as in they would drop us off and they’d wait for us in the parking lot. So those were our Sundays until my parents left the Catholic Church when I was 9, or let’s be real—my sister and I left—rather. I grew up Pentecostal, and while growing up strict was the worst, I’m so thankful for my faith foundation. I finally saw the light (religion vs. relationship) when I began attending a non-denominational Christian church and my life has never ever been the same :)

Favorite family members (just kidding…kind of): My nieces and baby nephew: Madeline, Melody and Josiah – I’m obsessed!

JessMarti.4.9.17 (46 of 82).jpg

Dream job: White House Press Secretary. I think I could do a better job than Sean Spicer. So, help me get this hashtag to go viral, would you?! #JessForPressSecretary2020. 

Best investment: Braces!

Why I started this site: I grew tired of everything superficial on social media that caters to women. So I created this space so we can discuss authentic, vulnerable, and relevant topics. I’m also big on encouraging other women, so I’m all about those “Women Who Inspire” Features.

Passions near and dear: Women’s ministry and immigration advocacy.

Education background: B.A in Communications, minor in Journalism from George Mason University. Go Patriots!

I believe in: Being kind to other women, never suppressing a genuine compliment, the power of vulnerability, and eating tacos whenever possible.

Once in a while: I remember that I'm still young and someday I'll wish I was this exact age.

JessMarti.4.9.17 (4 of 82).jpg

Best beauty secret: I wash my hair once a week to maintain color and because I'm a lazy girl who doesn’t like to style every single day.

Something no one knows about me: I prefer to floss in the morning versus the night before bed.

Career background: I’m a former PR girl and reporter, and currently work as a government contractor communications consultant.

Favorite way to unwind: Long runs along the Potomac River.

My heroes: My parents. They came to America from El Salvador, handled their stuff, and passed their work ethic onto my siblings and I. I’m forever indebted to them.

I’m a sucker for: Pan dulce, preferably fresh out of the oven from any Hispanic panaderia. So carbs and sugar, pretty much. Horrible, I know.

Any one just as weird or cool? Drop me a line to say hi – I’d love to connect with you!

Ps. All images were shot by the talented, sweet, and super cool girl that is Anna Meyer.

Jessica Martinez